Management Committee

The ADS Management Committee comprises:

  • Representatives of funding bodies
  • Representatives of user communities
  • The ADS internal Management Group, comprising the Director, Collections Development Manager, Communications & Access Manager, European Projects Manager, Lead Digital Archivist and the Internet Archaeology Editor

Other members of ADS staff may attend to give reports and presentations.

The members of the Management Committee meet once a year to:

  • Develop a strategic vision by:
    • Identifying priorities for the advancement of ADS core objectives
    • Identifying routes and means to further the collection, description, cataloguing, preservation and provision of user support for digital resources created as a product of archaeological investigation and research
    • Assisting in the development and promotion of a secure financial base and viable business model
  • Monitor progress and usage by:
    • Reviewing progress on the delivery of principal projects
    • Monitoring usage of key identified areas of ADS digital resources
    • Receiving and commenting upon annual financial and activity reports
  • Represent stakeholder communities, and>/li>
    • Promote standards and guidelines for best practice in the creation, description, preservation and use of archaeological research data
    • Articulate the views of the archaeological user communities with an interest in the production and use of digital data

Members of the ADS Management Committee serve in a purely advisory capacity and have no legal liability whatsoever.

Management papers are accessible from Management Pages (internal access only)

CHAIR: Professor Sam Turner - Newcastle University

Dr Mike Heyworth MBE - Council for British Archaeology
Dr Jeremy Huggett - University of Glasgow
Dr William Kilbride - Digital Preservation Coalition

Director: Professor Julian Richards
Collections Development Manager: Louisa Matthews (''ex officio'')
Communications & Access Manager: Katie Green (''ex officio'')
European Projects Manager: Holly Wright (''ex officio'')
Internet Archaeology Editor: Judith Winters (''ex officio'')

Corresponding members are indicated with an asterisk.

Alex AdamsonHistoric Environment Scotland
Ian BroadbridgeAHRC
Nick BoldriniALGAO
Barry Cunliffe*British Academy
Dan Pett*British Museum
Anthony SinclairHigher Education Academy
Keith MayHistoric England
Mike EvansHistoric England
Edmund Southworth*Manx National Heritage
Clare PostlethwaiteMEDIN
Amber VaterNERC
Gary Lock*Oxford University
David ThomasRCAHMW
Simon Gilmour/Catherine AitkenSociety of Antiquaries of Scotland
Paul MillerThe Cloud of Data
Andrew BevanUniversity College London, Institute of Archaeology
Vince Gaffney*University of Bradford
Tim DarvillUniversity of Bournemouth
Richard HigginsUniversity of Durham, Archives and Special Collections
Mark Gillings*University of Leicester
Graeme EarlKing's College London
Steve Mills*University of Cardiff
Deborah SmithUniversity of York
Tim SlyUniversity of Southampton