LIST OF OFFICERS AND COMMITTEES OF THE SOCIETY 1973

PRESIDENT

A. J. TAYLOR, sometime Chief Inspector of Ancient Monuments and Historic Buildings, Department of the Environment

HON, VICE-PRESIDENTS

SIR THOMAS KENDRICK, sometime Director of the British Museum SIR MORTIMER WHEELER, Past-President of the Society of Antiquaries of London

VICE-PRESIDENTS

H. R. LOYN, Professor of Modern History, University College, Cardiff

P. A. RAHTZ, Lecturer in Archaeology, University of Birmingham

R. B. K. STEVENSON, Keeper of the National Museum of Antiquities of Scotland

SECRETARY

D. M. WILSON, Professor of Medieval Archaeology, University of London

TREASURER

J. G. HURST, Inspector of Ancient Monuments, Department of the Environment (Assistant Treasurer, Miss E. M. LIBRA)

EDITOR

D. B. HARDEN, sometime Director of the London Museum (Assistant Editor, Mrs. ANN MORLEY; Review Editor, Mrs. LESLIE WEBSTER)

COUNCIL

N. W. ALCOCK, Lecturer in Molecular Sciences, University of Warwick

K. J. BARTON, Director of Portsmouth Museum and Art Galleries

C. N. L. BROOKE, Professor of History, University of London

- J. CHERRY, Assistant Keeper, Department of Medieval and Later Antiquities, the British Museum
- J. DUNBAR, Senior Investigator, Royal Commission on Ancient Monuments (Scotland)

L. J. KEEN, Director, Southampton Archaeological Research Committee

C. MORRIS, Lecturer in Archaeology, University of Durham

S. E. RIGOLD, Inspector of Ancient Monuments, Department of the Environment

M. W. THOMPSON, Inspector of Ancient Monuments, Department of the Environment

EDITORIAL COMMITTEE

The PRESIDENT The SECRETARY The TREASURER The EDITOR The ASSISTANT EDITOR The REVIEW EDITOR PROFESSOR ELEANORA CARUS-WILSON J. N. L. MYRES W. A. PANTIN S. E. RIGOLD