LIST OF OFFICERS AND COMMITTEES OF THE SOCIETY 1974

PRESIDENT

A. J. TAYLOR, sometime Chief Inspector of Ancient Monuments and Historic Buildings, Department of the Environment

HON. VICE-PRESIDENTS

SIR THOMAS KENDRICK, sometime Director of the British Museum SIR MORTIMER WHEELER, Past-President of the Society of Antiquaries of London

VICE-PRESIDENTS

H. R. LOYN, Professor of Modern History, University College, Cardiff

P. A. RAHTZ, Lecturer in Archaeology, University of Birmingham

R. B. K. STEVENSON, Keeper of the National Museum of Antiquities of Scotland

SECRETARY

D. M. WILSON, Professor of Medieval Archaeology, University of London

TREASURER

J. G. HURST, Inspector of Ancient Monuments, Department of the Environment (Assistant Treasurer, Miss E. M. LIBRA)

EDITOR

R. D. H. GEM, Inspector of Ancient Monuments, Department of the Environment (Assistant Editor, Mrs. ANN MORLEY; Review Editor, Mrs. LESLIE WEBSTER)

COUNCIL

N. W. ALCOCK, Lecturer in Molecular Sciences, University of Warwick

C. N. L. BROOKE, Professor of History, University of London

Mrs. H. CLARKE, Honorary Research Fellow, University College, London

J. DUNBAR, Senior Investigator, Royal Commission on Ancient Monuments (Scotland)

I. A. GRAHAM-CAMPBELL, Lecturer in Medieval Archaeology, University College, London

T. G. HASSALL, Director, Oxfordshire Archaeological Unit

L. J. KEEN, Director, Southampton Archaeological Research Committee

C. MORRIS, Lecturer in Archaeology, University of Durham

S. E. RIGOLD, Inspector of Ancient Monuments, Department of the Environment

M. W. THOMPSON, Inspector of Ancient Monuments, Department of the Environment

EDITORIAL COMMITTEE

The PRESIDENT The SECRETARY The TREASURER THE EDITOR THE ASSISTANT EDITOR THE REVIEW EDITOR PROFESSOR ELEANORA CARUS-WILSON D. B. HARDEN J. N. L. MYRES S. E. RIGOLD