LIST OF OFFICERS AND COUNCIL OF THE SOCIETY

1978

PRESIDENT

C. E. BLUNT, Past President, the Royal Numismatic Society

HON. VICE-PRESIDENTS

D. B. HARDEN, sometime Director of the London Museum

J. G. HURST, Principal Inspector of Ancient Monuments, Department of the Environment SIR THOMAS KENDRICK, sometime Director of the British Museum

D. M. WILSON, Director of the British Museum

VICE-PRESIDENTS

L. ALCOCK, Professor of Archaeology, University of Glasgow

S. E. RIGOLD, Principal Inspector of Ancient Monuments, Department of the Environment

A. D. SAUNDERS, Chief Inspector of Ancient Monuments and Historic Buildings, Department of the Environment

SECRETARY

J. A. GRAHAM-CAMPBELL, Lecturer in Medieval Archaeology, University College, London

TREASURER

Mrs HELEN CLARKE, Lecturer in Medieval Archaeology, University College, London

EDITOR

R. D. H. GEM, Inspector of Ancient Monuments, Department of the Environment (Assistant Editor, Mrs FRANCES BROWN; Review Editor, Mrs LESLIE WEBSTER; Monographs Editor, Mrs ANN MORLEY)

COUNCIL

R. N. BAILEY, Lecturer in English, University of Newcastle upon Tyne

D. B. BAKER, Conservation Officer, Bedfordshire County Council

A. CARTER, Director, the Norwich Survey

Mrs TANIA DICKINSON, Lecturer in Archaeology, University College, Cardiff

J. M. FLETCHER, Leverhulme Research Fellow, University of Oxford

R. A. HALL, Assistant Director, York Archaeological Trust

R. K. MORRIS, Secretary of the Churches Committee, Council for British Archaeology

Mrs DOROTHY OWEN, Librarian, University Library, Cambridge

C. P. S. PLATT, Senior Lecturer in History, University of Southampton

EDITORIAL COMMITTEE

The PRESIDENT The SECRETARY The TREASURER The EDITOR Mrs FRANCES BROWN Mrs ANN MORLEY Mrs LESLIE WEBSTER C. P. S. PLATT S. E. RIGOLD D. B. HARDEN