Some Derbyshire Grammar School Masters.

Compiled by W. E. GODFREY.

DRONFIELD GRAMMAR SCHOOL, 1579.

1584 Thomas Revell.

In 1626 and 1631 Mr. Peck.

1636 ffrancis Alsope.

1640 Mr. Poole.

In 1660 William Whitaker. (Died 1662).

In 1680 and 1682 Mr. Mason.

Apptd. 1692 Robert Good. (Still there in 1708).

1774 Revd. John Walker.

1797 Revd. J. Russell.

[School closed before 1800. Chancery took charge. A suit dismissed 1809].

Later school re-opened.

1814-47 William Pidcock.

1847. Revd. John Cockerton.

Circa 1860. Revd. J. F. Fanshawe. (He was non-resident and appointed his own deputy. This would appear to have been a Dr. Haslam).

About 1867-88 Waller King Bedingfield.

1888-1926 Charles Chapman Baggaley.

1926 Norman Shera Millican, M.C., M.A.

CHESTERFIELD GRAMMAR SCHOOL, 1594.

This school succeeded an ecclesiastical school which probably lapsed in 1548 with the Suppression of the Chantries Act. Two masters of this former school are SOME DERBYSHIRE GRAMMAR SCHOOL MASTERS. 39

known, viz., Henry, Clerk of Ashbourne, in the reign of Henry III, and Henry de Sutton, 1336-7.

The present school was endowed as a free school in 1594 by Godfrey Foljambe. Will dated 1595. School established under Letters Patent dated 21st April, 1598. Being held in St. Helen's Chapel on Holywell Street it was more often called St. Helen's School or the Chapel School than the grammar school.

Circa 1618 Gilbert Allsopp.

In 1624 and 1631 Mr. Gibson.

In 1633 Mr. Bonner.

In 1641 and 1643 Mr. Wilby.

In 1653 and 1663 Mr. Stone. (Perhaps up to 1668).

[Between 1691 and 1699 it seems as though the building was closed, but work was carried on in private houses belonging the masters.]

In 1691 William Foxlowe.

Before 1699 Revd. William Sleigh (temporary head).

1699 and in 1707 Revd. Robert Browne.

[School rebuilt 1710.]

In 1722 and 1752 Revd. William Burrows.

In 1773 Revd. — Saunders.

[These two were co-equal masters for some years prior to 1752.]

1773-94 Revd. Joseph Shipstone. (Died 1794).

1794-1832 Revd. Thomas Field.

[School closed 1832-46. Rebuilt 1846.]

1846 or -47-1876 Revd. Frederick Calder.

1876-1885 Revd. F. B. Allison.

1885-94 A. E. P. Voules.

1894-1921 James Mansell.

1921-34 A. C. Bescoby.

1934-39 C. E. Kemp.

1939 J. L. Smeall.

40 SOME DERBYSHIRE GRAMMAR SCHOOL MASTERS.

STAVELEY GRAMMAR SCHOOL (Circa 1586).

There is no satisfactory documentary evidence to substantiate that this school was founded in 1572 by Margaret Frecheville, but convincing evidence that this is an error. Actually the school would appear to have been founded by Judge Rodes of Woodthorpe Hall, *circa* 1586, and the endowment added to by Margaret Frecheville of Staveley Hall, and Robert Sitwell, of Netherthorpe Hall, at two subsequent dates. Lewis's Topographical Dictionary has the founder correct, but the date given (1537) is hopelessly wrong.

1587 William Margerison.

Resigned 1598 Henry Cook.

In 1601 John Holmes.

Before 1607 Mr. Morley.

1607-13 John (?) Goostrey. (Formerly schoolmaster at Caunton, Notts. Subsequently opened a private school at North Wingfield in 1613. Was discharged for getting married.)

1613 Mr. Armfield. (Born at Rotherham).

Circa 1615 Mr. Marshall.

In 1632 and 1640 Thomas Dand.

In 1649 and 1653 Revd. Roger Steare. (Died 1662). In 1698 Mr. Edmonds. (Probably finished that year.)

Probably to 1721 Samuel Allen. (Died 1721.)

1726 or -7 to 1777 Richard Robinson.

In 1788 Revd. Richard Ward.

In 1803 Jonathan Fletcher. (Resigned Dec., 1803.) 1804-48 Squire Butterfield.

[School closed 1848-65. Used as a cobbler's shop.] 1865-99 Lt.-Col. Francis Albert Turner.

1800-1012 Miall Spencer.

1912-1933 A. Riley Blackburn.

1933 E. Denton.