EDITORIAL

The purpose of this note is to thank Carol Pyrah, the outgoing Editor, and to introduce ourselves, Evelyn and David Baker.

Carol did sterling work guiding the fledgling Journal through its formative stages and the early volumes; the Society owes her an enormous debt, and it is largely due to her hard work that the publication is now so highly regarded. Looking through the paperwork we inherited from her, it becomes clear just how much has been involved in securing papers and referees, negotiating with authors, editing, design, proof reading and seeing matters through to publication and distribution. This became less and less compatible with the increasing demands of her 'day-job' at English Heritage, which is the reason why we took over from her earlier than anticipated, and why subscribers have had to patiently wait for this double edition. We hope you enjoy it.

Our own interests are focused on monastic archaeology. While employed by Bedfordshire County Council I was closely involved in rescue excavations at Warden Abbey, Dunstable Friary, Newnham Priory and Grove Priory, the latter a 13-year largely complete excavation of an alien priory of Fontevrault now nearing publication. David has been a member of St Albans DAC for over thirty years; I am Treasurer for the Medieval Tile Census and former editor of the *Bedfordshire Archaeological Journal*.

With the Editorial Board and Executive Committee we will strive to maintain the Journal's obvious quality while attempting to stream-line some of the procedures that have contributed to the present delay. Time will tell whether we have been successful.

Evelyn Baker

The Society for Church Archaeology

Hon President Richard Morris

Chair Nancy Edwards

Vice Chair Charities Commission & Constitutional Matters Margaret Faull

Secretary Nicola Smith

Treasurer Ian Scott

Editors Evelyn Baker, David Baker

Assistant Editor Jackie Hall *Web Manager* Aleksandra McClain

Editorial Board David Baker

Evelyn Baker Nancy Edwards Richard Fawcett Roberta Gilchrist Jackie Hall Jerry O'Sullivan

Membership Officer Neil Ludlow

Publicity Officer Frank Green

Newsletter Editor Phil Thomas

Other Members of Executive Committee Joseph Elders Tim Pestell

