Table of Contents

Foreword

Introduction

List of Figures, Panels and Case Studies

G: Glossary and List of Abbreviations

H: Bibliography and further reading

I: Useful websites

J: Useful addresses



Email the Editor








Page Contributors:




Powered by
JSPWiki v2.8.4
11-06-2012


(checked between 1st March 2015 and 31st March 2015). To report a broken link please click here

I.1 National organisations#

Archaeological Data Service: http://archaeologicaldataservice.ac.uk/

Archaeology Scotland: http://archaeologyscotland.org.uk

Association of Local Government Archaeological Officers: http://www.algao.org.uk

Audit Commission: www.audit-commission.gov.uk/

Cadw: http://www.cadw.wales.gov.uk/

Collections Trust http://www.collectionstrust.org.uk/

Convention of Scottish Local Authorities (COSLA): http://www.cosla.gov.uk/

Council for British Archaeology: http://www.britarch.ac.uk

Deptartment for Communities and Local Government: https://www.gov.uk/government/organisations/department-for-culture-media-sport

Deptartment for Culture, Media and Sport: Dehttps://www.gov.uk/government/organisations/department-for-culture-media-sport

Heritage Lottery Fund: http://www.hlf.org.uk

Heirnet Consultancy: http://www.britarch.ac.uk/HEIRNET

Historic England: http://www.HistoricEngland.org.uk

Historic Scotland: www.historic-scotland.gov.uk

Institute of Historic Building Conservation: Institute of Historic Building Conservation

Local Government Association: http://www.lga.gov.uk

Museums Association: http://www.museumsassociation.org

Royal Commission on the Ancient and Historical Monuments of Scotland: http://www.rcahms.gov.uk/

Royal Commission on the Ancient and Historical Monuments of Wales: http://www.rcahmw.org.uk

Royal Institute of British Architects: http://www.architecture.com/Explore/Home.aspx

Scottish Government: http://www.scotland.gov.uk/

Welsh Government: http://www.wales.gov.uk

Welsh Local Government Association: http://www.wlga.gov.uk/

I.2 Training and professional development#

ADS Guide to Good Practice for Excavation and Fieldwork Archives: http://guides.archaeologydataservice.ac.uk

ADS: training opportunities for archaeologists: http://ads.ahds.ac.uk/project/userinfo/training.html

The Archaeology Training Forum: http://www.britarch.ac.uk/training/atf.html

The Campaign for Learning: http://www.campaign-for-learning.org.uk

Chartered Institute for Archaeologists - Professional Development: http://www.archaeologists.net

Council for British Archaeology Briefing: http://www.britarch.ac.uk/briefing/courses.html

Creative and Cultural Skills: http://www.ccskills.org.uk/

exeGesIS SDM Ltd: http://www.esdm.co.uk/training

ESRI UK: http://www.esriuk.com/training-pages/find-courses

Harvard Business School: http://www.hbsp.harvard.edu

Historic Environment Local Management (HELM): http://www.historicengland.org.uk/advice/planning/local-heritage/helm-redirect

Investors in People (UK): http://www.investorsinpeople.co.uk

Looking at Buildings (an introduction to architecture): http://www.lookingatbuildings.org.uk/index.html

National occupational standards in Archaeological Practice: http://www.torc.org.uk/nos/index.asp

Nautical Archaeological Society: http://www.nauticalarchaeologysociety.org/content/what-nas-training-programme

The Skills Funding Agency: https://www.gov.uk/government/organisations/skills-funding-agency

Society for Museum Archaeology: http://www.socmusarch.org.uk/train.htm

TUC Learning Services: http://www.unionlearn.org.uk

Union Learning Fund: http://www.unionlearningfund.org.uk

University of Oxford Department for Continuing Education: https://www.conted.ox.ac.uk/courses/index.php

University of Leicester Heritage Practice Training Courses http://www2.le.ac.uk/departments/history/heritage

Weald and Downland Museum: http://www.wealddown.co.uk/learn/adult-learning/

I.3 Information technology and the World Wide Web#

Anti-virus (general information) http://www.us-cert.gov/cas/tips/ST04-005.html

Brief history of the internet: Brhttp://www.isoc.org/internet/history/brief.shtml

The CD Information Center: http://cd-info.com

The Cloud: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cloud_computing

Data recovery example: http://www.ontrack.co.uk

Firewalls: http://searchsecurity.techtarget.com/sDefinition/0,,sid14_gci212125,00.html

Intranets: http://searchwebservices.techtarget.com/sDefinition/0,,sid26_gci212377,00.html

IT security warning service: http://www.itsafe.gov.uk/

McAfee (virus protection software): http://www.mcafee.com/uk/

PKZIP: http://www.pkware.com

Proxy servers: http://searchsmallbizit.techtarget.com/sDefinition/0,,sid44_gci212840,00.html

Site design (Royal National Institute of Blind People): http://www.rnib.org.uk/professionals/webaccessibility/Pages/web_accessibility.aspx

Social Media: http://www.historicengland.org.uk/research/research-results/activities/5c1

http://digitalfutures.rcahms.gov.uk/

Symantec (Antivirus Research Center): http://www.symantec.com/avcenter/index.html

Web Accessibility initiative: http://www.w3.org/WAI

Web Portals: http://www.w3.org/2002/07/DIAT/posn/sun-portal.html

What is FTP: http://kb.iu.edu/data/aerg.html

WinZip: Whttp://www.winzip.com/winzip.html

World Wide Web (W3C) Consortium: http://www.w3.org/

Writing for the Web: http://www.usability.gov/how-to-and-tools/methods/writing-for-the-web.html

XML Guide: http://www.w3schools.com/xml/xml_whatis.asp

XML UK: the United Kingdom Forum for Structured Information Standards: http://www.xmluk.org/

Z39.50 for all: http://www.ariadne.ac.uk/issue21/z3950

I.4 GIS#

ADS GIS Guide to Good Practice: http://guides.archaeologydataservice.ac.uk/g2gp/Gis_Toc

ArcGIS: http://www.esriuk.com

The Association for Geographic Information: http://www.agi.org.uk

Getmapping®: http://www2.getmapping.com

MapInfo: http://www.mapinfo.com/

Ordnance Survey PAI programme: http://www.ordnancesurvey.co.uk/business-and-government/help-and-support/navigation-technology/pai-link-files.html

Inspire Directive (UK Government page): http://data.gov.uk/location/inspire

Open Source GIS: http://opensourcegis.org/

I.5 Data standards and guidance#

Archaeology Data Service/Digital Antiquity - Guides to Good Practice: http://guides.archaeologydataservice.ac.uk/

ASPIRE: http://www.aspire-resource.info

CIDOC: http://www.cidoc-crm.org/

Digital Scotland: http://www.gov.scot/Topics/Economy/digital

Dublin Core: http://dublincore.org/

Forum on Information Standards in Heritage (FISH): http://fishforum.weebly.com/

FISH Interoperability Toolkit: www.heritage-standards.org.uk

HER Forum: www.jiscmail.ac.uk/herforum(info)

Heritage Data Standards and Terminology (includes links to other data standard sites): https://www.historicengland.org.uk/advice/technical-advice/information-management/data-standards-terminology/

Historic Environment Polygonisation Standards (Scotland): http://www.rcahms.gov.uk/historic-environment-polygonisation-standards-scotland.html

INSCRIPTION: http://www.fish-forum.info/inscript.htm

Metadata: http://www.dcc.ac.uk/resources/briefing-papers/standards-watch-papers/what-are-metadata-standards and http://www.ukoln.ac.uk/metadata/

MIDAS Heritage: http://historicengland.org.uk/images-books/publications/midas-heritage/

SENESCHAL: http://www.heritagedata.org/blog/about-heritage-data/seneschal/

UK GEMINI: http://www.agi.org.uk/join-us/agi-groups/standards-committee/uk-gemini

UNESCO theasurus: http://databases.unesco.org/thesaurus/

I.6 Disaster control plans#

Business continuity management toolkit: https://www.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/137994/Business_Continuity_Managment_Toolkit.pdf

Business continuity management plan (example template): https://www.camden.gov.uk/ccm/content/policing-and-public-safety/emergencies/filestorage/basic-business-continuity-management-plan-template/

National Archives - Documents: http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/documents/information-management/memo6.pdf

I.7 Online maps#

The British Library: http://www.bl.uk/onlinegallery/onlineex/mapsviews/index.html

Genmaps - England, Scotland and Wales: http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~genmaps/

The National Library of Scotland Map collection (Maps and guide to symbols and abbreviations): http://maps.nls.uk/

Old Maps online: https://www.old-maps.co.uk/#

I.8 Historic Environment Records#

Archwilio (includes contact details for the Welsh HERs): http://www.archwilio.org.uk/

Heritage Gateway (contact details for English HERs): http://www.heritagegateway.org.uk/Gateway/CHR/ SMR Forum Scotland (includes contact details for Scottish HERs and SMRs): http://smrforum-scotland.org.uk/her-contacts/

I.9 Thematic recording projects#

Airfield Research Group: http://www.airfieldresearchgroup.org.uk/

Archaeological Investigations Project (1990 - 2010): http://csweb.bournemouth.ac.uk/aip/aipintro.htm

Association for Industrial Archaeology: http://www.industrial-archaeology.org.uk/

British Sundial Society: http://www.sundialsoc.org.uk/

Corpus of Roman Mosaics: http://www.asprom.org

Corpus of Romanesque Sculpture: Corpus of Romanesque Sculpture

Defence of Britain Project (1995 - 2002): http://www.britarch.ac.uk/projects/dob

Englaid: English Identities and Landscapes: http://www.oerc.ox.ac.uk/projects/englaid

The Folly Fellowship: The Folly Fellowship Garden History Society

Historical Metallurgy Society: http://hist-met.org

Home Front Legacy 1914 - 1918: http://www.homefrontlegacy.org.uk/wp/

Images of England Project: http://www.imagesofengland.org.uk/

National Inventory of War Memorials: http://www.ukniwm.org.uk/

National Piers Society: http://www.piers.co.uk

Portable Antiquities Scheme: http://www.finds.org.uk

Public Monuments & Sculpture Association http://www.pmsa.org.uk/

Roman Rural Settlement Project: http://www.reading.ac.uk/archaeology/research/roman-rural-settlement/ Survey of the Jewish Built Heritage: Survey of the Jewish Built Heritage

Tiles & Architectural Ceramics Society: http://www.tilesoc.org.uk/

Parks and Gardens UK: http://www.parksandgardens.ac.uk/

I.10 Storage and digital archiving#

Archaeology Data Service/Digital Antiquity - Guides to Good Practice: http://guides.archaeologydataservice.ac.uk/

Museums Association: http://www.museumsassociation.org/

Museums Libraries and Archives Council (no longer exists and the link is to the archived version of its website): http://webarchive.nationalarchives.gov.uk/20110802101741/http://mla.gov.uk/home

I.11 Access to information#

Heritage Information Access Stratergy (HIAS): http://fishforum.weebly.com/uploads/1/4/2/7/14279169/intro_update_to_hias_her_forum_09-12-2014.pdf

INSPIRE Directive: http://inspire.ec.europa.eu/

INSPIRE Implementation in Local Government: http://www.local.gov.uk/c/document_library/get_file?uuid=e9f32268-2f12-4824-a73d-dc2ba2319ced(info)

Scotland's Historic Environment Data (SHED): http://smrforum-scotland.org.uk/shed/

I.11.1 Equality#

Action for Hearing Loss (Formerly the Royal National Institute for the Deaf): http:\\www.rnid.org.uk

British Sign Language: http://www.british-sign.co.uk/

Disability Rights: http://www.direct.gov.uk/DisabledPeople/RightsAndObligations/YourRights/YourRightsArticles/fs/en?CONTENT_ID=4001068&chk=eazXEG

Document Translation: http://languageline.co.uk/solutions/translation/document-translation/?gclid=CNTbs4er38MCFQ_KtAod-zcA2g

Equality and Human Rights Commission: http://www.equalityhumanrights.com/

Next Generation Text Service (for those using ‘text’ phones (or Minicom): http://ngts.org.uk/

Plain English Guides: http://www.plainenglish.co.uk/

Royal National Institute for the Blind: http:\\www.rnib.org.uk

I.11.2 Copyright#

Copyright Guidance: https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/changes-to-copyright-law

Copyright Licensing Agency: http://www.cla.co.uk/

The UK Copyright Service: http://www.copyrightservice.co.uk/

I.11.3 Freedom of Information#

Information Commissioner’s Office: https://ico.org.uk/for-organisations/guide-to-freedom-of-information/what-is-the-foi-act/

Scottish Information Commissioner: http://www.itspublicknowledge.info/

I.11.4 Education#

Accessing Scotland’s Past: http://www.accessingscotlandspast.org.uk

Inspiring Learning for All http://www.inspiringlearningforall.gov.uk

Education Scotland: http://www.ltscotland.org.uk/

National Curriculum: http://www.gov.uk/national-curriculum/overview/

People’s Network: http://www.peoplesnetwork.gov.uk/

Museums Galleries Scotland: http://www.scottishmuseums.org.uk/

I.11.5 Information gateways/portals#

ArchSearch: http://archaeologydataservice.ac.uk/archsearch/

Archwilio: http://www.archwilio.org.uk/

Canmore: http://canmore.rcahms.gov.uk/

Coflein: http://www.coflein.gov.uk/

Heritage Gateway: http:\\www.heritagegateway.org.uk

Historic Wales: http://historicwales.gov.uk

Pastmap: http://www.pastmap.org

I.11.6 National databases and Collections#

ArchSearch: http://archaeologydataservice.ac.uk/archsearch/

biab online: http://www.biab.ac.uk

Britain from Above: http://www.britainfromabove.org.uk/

British History Online: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/

Coflein: http://www.coflein.gov.uk/

Cambridge University Collection of Aerial Photography: http://www.geog.cam.ac.uk/cucap/

Church Plans Online Project (Anglican churches throughout England and Wales): http://www.churchplansonline.org/

Historic England Archive: http://www.historicengland.org.uk/services-skills/archive-services/

Historical Directories of England and Wales (University of Leicester Special Collections Online): http://specialcollections.le.ac.uk/cdm/landingpage/collection/p16445coll4/hd/index.asp

HLAMap (Historic and modern land use in Sctoland): http://hla.rcahms.gov.uk/

Images of England: http://www.imagesofengland.org.uk/

MAGIC: http://www.magic.gov.uk

The National Heritage List for England (NHLE): https://www.historicengland.org.uk/listing/the-list

OASIS: http://oasis.ac.uk/pages/wiki/Main

OpenGeoscience: http://www.bgs.ac.uk/opengeoscience/

Pastmap: http://www.pastmap.org

PastScape: http://www.pastscape.org.uk/

Portable Antiquities Scheme: https://finds.org.uk/

Wales Historic Landscapes Register: http://www.ccgc.gov.uk/landscape--wildlife/protecting-our-landscape/historic-landscapes.aspx

Scottish Palaeoenvironmental archive: http://xweb.geos.ed.ac.uk/~ajn/spad/index.html

SCRAN (Digital images): http://www.scran.ac.uk/

Vision of Britain (information from the Great Britain Historical GIS Project) Visiohttp://www.visionofbritain.org.uk/