Skip to content

Digital Data Re-use Award 2015

Internet Archaeology and the Archaeology Data Service have teamed up to provide an Award that recognises the outstanding work being carried out through the re-use of digital data.

The Digital Data Re-use Award offers people the chance to promote their work and win the opportunity to publish, free of charge, in the premier open access journal Internet Archaeology.

This Award is intended to:

  • acknowledge the wide range of research carried out that re-uses data hosted at the ADS
  • raise awareness of the research potential of data re-use in archaeology and beyond
  • raise the winners profiles amongst peers
  • assist the winners career development

The top 3 entries will receive one of our coveted 1GB trowel-shaped USB sticks, a certificate of accomplishment, and will be invited to publish their case studies in the ADS blog SoundBytes.

The overall winner of the Award will also be invited to submit a fully developed article to Internet Archaeology which, subject to positive peer-review, will be published in a future issue of the journal Internet Archaeology  with all fees waived.

Who May Apply?

Any individual or group who has utilised one or more ADS datasets in their work. Work must have been completed in the last 3 years.

How to Apply

To apply complete this form providing us with your personal details, project information (including a synopsis of your research) and the contact details for a referee familiar with your research from whom we may seek a supporting statement. This individual may be a supervisor, examiner, research collaborator, peer, colleague, but not a family member or spouse.

Email the form to

Competition closes at 5pm on 2nd October 2015.


Applications will be assessed by a sub-committee of the ADS and Internet Archaeology’s Management Committee. In assessing entries the Committee will look for originality, clarity of expression and potential for advancing discussion and future research. Supporting statements from referees maybe solicited during the assessment period. The three winners of the Award will be announced on 9th October 2015. The winners will receive their prizes the following week.

The Committee reserves the prerogative to defer the Award in the event of a shortage of quality entries. The overall winner of the award must meet all normal submission and editorial requirements for Internet Archaeology including successful peer review before publication.